Annual Carnot Prize

THE CARNOT PRIZE is the Kleinman Center’s annual recognition of distinguished contributions to energy policy through scholarship or practice.

Our prize is named in memory of French scientist Sadi Carnot, who in 1824 published Reflections on the Motive Power of Fire, which became the basis for the second law of thermodynamics. Carnot recognized that the power of the steam engine would “produce a great revolution” in human development. The Carnot Prize is intended to honor those who have revolutionized our understanding of energy policy.


Cheryl LaFleur

Former Commissioner
Federal Energy Regulatory Commission

Piyush Goyal

Minister of Railways, Minister of Coal
Government of India

Gina McCarthy

Former Administrator
Environmental Protection Agency

Fatih Birol

Executive Director
International Energy Agency

Daniel Yergin

Vice Chairman

2018 Highlights



Follow along on social media: #CarnotPrize