Visiting Scholars Program

SUPPORTING COLLABORATIVE RESEARCH AT PENN. Our visiting scholars program brings distinguished academics and renowned thought leaders to Penn to collaborate on research. We welcome national and international scholars in the fields of energy policy or energy technology.

Our 2017-2018 call for Visiting Scholar nominations is now open. The application deadline is October 20th, 2017. View the details here:

2017-2018 Visitor Call

Our Visiting Scholars

Meet our incoming scholars for the 2016-2017 academic school year:

Dr. Joe Aldy is an Associate Professor of Public Policy at the John F. Kennedy School of Government at Harvard University, a Visiting Fellow at Resources for the Future, a Faculty Research Fellow at the National Bureau of Economic Research, and a Senior Adviser at the Center for Strategic and International Studies. He is also the Faculty Chair for the Regulatory Policy Program at the Mossavar-Rahmani Center for Business and Government. His research focuses on climate change policy, energy policy, and mortality risk valuation. Aldy served as the Special Assistant to the President for Energy and Environment, was a Fellow at Resources for the Future, and served on the staff of the President’s Council of Economic Advisers. He holds a Ph.D. in Economics from Harvard University, a Master of Environmental Management from the Nicholas School of the Environment, and a B.A. from Duke University.


Dr. Gilbert E. Metcalf is a Professor of Economics at Tufts University and a Research Associate at the National Bureau of Economic Research. Metcalf has taught at Princeton University, the Kennedy School of Government, and MIT.  This year he is a Visiting Scholar at Harvard’s Kennedy School of Government.  Metcalf has frequently testified before Congress, served on various national panels for agencies including the National Academies of Sciences and the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, among others. During 2011 and 2012, he served as the Deputy Assistant Secretary for Environment and Energy at the U.S. Department of Treasury. His primary research area is applied public finance with particular interests in taxation, energy, and environmental economics. His current research focuses on policy evaluation and design in the area of energy and climate change. Metcalf received a B.A. in Mathematics from Amherst College, an M.S. in Agricultural and Resource Economics from the University of Massachusetts Amherst, and a Ph.D. in Economics from Harvard University.

Dr. Roberto Schaeffer is Professor of Energy Economics in the Energy Planning Program (PPE) of the Federal University of Rio de Janeiro (UFRJ), Brazil. Professor Schaeffer is a member of the Working Group III of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC), leader of the Brazilian country team. During the last 15 years, his research has focused on developing the Brazilian integrated assessment energy model.  As a Senior expert on Brazilian energy and climate policies, he regularly advises members of the Brazilian government on energy issues. .. Previously to his current professional position, he was, for two years, between 1991 and 1993, a Visiting Professor at the Center for Energy and the Environment, and a Lecturer at the Wharton School, both at the University of Pennsylvania. He received a Ph.D. in Energy Management and Policy from the University of Pennsylvania in 1990.


Dr. Katherine Smith is a Senior Technology and Market Assessor for gemaker, an Australian company which works to accelerate the commercialisation of science and technology and to increase the engagement between academia, research and industry. She has twice held posts as a scientific attaché (in nuclear science and technology) for the Australian Government. From 2011 to 2015 she was a Senior Advisor International Relations at the Australian Nuclear Science and Technology Organisation (ANSTO). Dr. Smith has been an active member of a range of committees and panels, including the International Scientific Advisory Panel of the Monash (University) Centre for Electron Microscopy, the Scientific Advisory Committee for the Electron Microscopy Centre at Argonne National Laboratory (chair 2009 – 11), and the American Nuclear Society, International Committee (2009 – 2012). She was previously a Principal Research Scientist at ANSTO, a Lecturer in Applied of Physics at the NSW Institute of Technology.


Dr. Roger Stern is an Assistant Professor of Energy Economics, Policy and Commerce at the University of Tulsa, Collins College of Business. He focuses in the study of mineral scarcity. His recent research mainly concerns the intersection of U.S. energy policy, foreign policy, and national security, and economic history. He has presented seminars to the Office of the Chief of Naval Operations; US Department of State; Council on Foreign Relations Nuclear Security Roundtable; Canadian Security Intelligence Service; King Abdullah Petroleum Science and Research Center and several universities. His op-ed essays have appeared in The Wall Street Journal, the International Herald Tribune and The National (Abu Dhabi). Professor Stern earned his Ph.D. in Geography and Environmental Engineering at Johns Hopkins University. He also held a Post-doctoral fellowship at Princeton University’s Oil, Energy & the Middle East Program.


Dr. Jérôme Taillard is an Assistant Professor of Finance at Babson College in Massachusetts. His main research interests are in corporate finance, with a current focus in areas of risk management, innovation, litigation, corporate governance and the oil and gas industry. He has published his research in the Journal of Corporate Finance and the Journal of Quantitative and Financial Analysis. Prior to completing his PhD, Dr. Taillard has served as consultant on risk management. He earned his PhD in Finance from The Ohio State University in 2010. He received a graduate degree in Economics from the Study Center in Gerzensee (Switzerland) and an undergraduate degree in Mathematics applied to Finance (magna cum laude) from the University of Neuchâtel in Switzerland.


Program Overview

Visitors are nominated by Penn faculty or Penn academic departments—or are invited directly by the Kleinman Center.

We provide a stipend for the visitor's time, travel, and other expenses incurred during the weeklong visit. We also provide an office housed within the center, located in the iconic Fisher Fine Arts Library. 

Visitors participate in programming organized and designed by the nominating faculty member, the department, or the Kleinman Center. At the end of the residence, visitors submit a policy digest on an pre-approved topic.

Each year, early in the spring, we invite nominations from University of Pennsylvania faculty, departments, or centers. To nominate a visiting scholar, please return to this page in the spring, or subscribe to our mailing list for timely details and information.

For more information, contact Angela Pachon at