Award Ceremony Kleinman Center Event

2017 Carnot Prize Policy Lecture and Award Ceremony


Gina McCarthy
Former Administrator, EPA
Lynn Scarlett
co-Chief External Affairs Officer, The Nature Conservancy
Mark Hughes
Founding Faculty Director, Kleinman Center for Energy Policy


Kleinman Center Energy Forum
220 S. 34th St.
Fisher Fine Arts Building, 4th Floor
Philadelphia, PA 19104

Event Summary

The 2017 Carnot Prize, for distinguished contributions to energy policy, was awarded to the Honorable Gina McCarthy, former Administrator of the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA).

The award was presented by the Honorable Lynn Scarlett, Co-Chief External Affairs Officer at The Nature Conservancy, and former Acting Secretary, Deputy Secretary, and Chief Operating Officer of the U.S. Department of the Interior. The award ceremony included remarks in McCarthy’s honor from several distinguished guests and concluded with a reflection on energy policy by Ms. McCarthy.


Gina McCarthy

Former Administrator, Environmental Protection Agency
Gina McCarthy is the former administrator of the Environmental Protection Agency. She is the recipient of the 2017 Carnot Prize for distinguished contributions to energy policy.

Lynn Scarlett

Chief External Affairs Officer, The Nature Conservancy
Lynn Scarlett is the Chief External Affairs Officer at The Nature Conservancy and a member of the Kleinman Center Advisory Board.

Mark Alan Hughes

Faculty Co-Director
Mark Alan Hughes leads the Kleinman Center as faculty co-director and writes on topics ranging from deep decarbonization to the future of Philadelphia’s energy landscape. He is also a professor of practice at the Weitzman School. 

Learn more about the history of the Carnot Prize and see previous winners.